Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake

by Katya Simkhovich

Alas, summer is coming to an end.  And yet I feel like it never began.  The day after school ended I had to pack my bags and move into a dorm room to take Philosophy and Essay Writing for the next seven weeks.  Although I met the most amazing people I have yet encountered in my life and learned more than I thought was possible in seven weeks and discovered my wild side, there was a severe lack of beach-going, swimming, cold watermelon, s’mores by a campfire, homemade ice cream, berry-picking, slacking off and feeling like a bum, tanning in the summer sun, and my grandmother’s garden-fresh vegetables.  And after seven weeks of writing essays, listening to three-hour lectures, running around campus to find a place with a printer AND a stapler, and sweating like a madwoman in our un-air-conditioned dorm rooms I returned home for only a week before I had to pack my bags again and leave for California for my last three college visits.  I’d like to add I am SO DONE with college visits.  Twenty college visits has been more than enough for me to get a feel for colleges across the country.  They’ve all started to meld together into one large blob of brick buildings, core curriculums, dorms, and sports facilities.  But here I am, back home for one last week full of meetings and summer-reading and unfortunate rain and cold weather and stuffing my face with chocolate chip cookies before school starts. Don’t get me wrong, it’s been a great summer.  It just doesn’t really classify as summer in my mind.

But this cake, it tastes likes summer.  The bright lemon flavor will blind out the rain you might see falling outside your window.  The bright, juicy bursts of blueberry scream summertime.  And the sweet tanginess of the glaze reminds one that life is sweet, although it might be a little tangy sometimes.  Just like my summer.  It’s been a lot more hard-work than I had ever expected to do during the summer time.  Yet that work was balanced out with the sweetness of what a great time I had meeting people of so many ethnicities and personalities in the freedom and fun of a college setting.  But regardless of what your summer was like, if you’re in need of a taste of summer, this cake IS summer.

Blueberry Lemon Bundt Cake – thank you Baking Addiction, for reminding me that summer exists.

For the Cake:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus 1 teaspoon for blueberries and zest – I used half white whole wheat and half all purpose
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup sour cream – I used light sour cream
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • 2 tablespoons grated lemon zest
  • juice of one lemon
  • nonstick cooking spray, for pan

For the Cream Cheese Glaze:

  • 1 (4-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tablespoon butter, softened
  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon milk

Directions for the Cake:

*For best results, coat the inside of the Bundt pan with cooking spray just before filling it with the batter to prevent it from pooling in the bottom.

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a bowl, whisk 2 1/2 cups flour with baking powder and salt; set aside.
  2. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugars on high speed until light and fluffy.
  3. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until incorporated.  Beat in vanilla and lemon juice.
  4. Reduce speed to low; add flour mixture in three addictions, alternating with two additions of sour cream.
  5. In a bowl, toss blueberries and zest with remaining teaspoon flour; gently fold into batter.
  6. Coat a 12-cup non-stick Bundt pan with cooking spray.  Spread batter in prepared pan.
  7. Bake cake on bottom rack of oven until a toothpick inserted into center of cake comes out clean, 60 to 70 minutes.  Cool in pan 20 minutes.  Invert onto a rack; cool completely, top side up.  Dist with confectioner’s sugar before serving or drizzle with cream cheese glaze.

Directions for the glaze:

  1. Mix the cream cheese with the butter, confectioner’s sugar, vanilla extract, and milk in a bowl.
  2. Heat in a microwave for 10-15 seconds.
  3. Drizzle spoonfuls over the cooled cake.
